Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Allergies Forum

Mold / mouse Infestation house - health side effects

Must Read
What causes allergies? We review risk factors and common allergens in this intro to allergies section....
What causes an allergy? Who is more likely to develop allergies? More here....
Which allergy symptoms are serious signs of allergic reaction and which are merely bothersome? Common types of allergy symptoms and allergic reactions here....
Hi all, newbie here. I'll try to keep this short and to the point...

I started dating a woman 4 years ago, her 2 kids at the time were pre-teen, one still is. The house they lived in was infested with mice and mould and was like that since they moved in over a 14 years ago. It's taken us over 2 years to demolish and remove the mold, and it's been a year since a mouse was seen. I think the house is cleaned up once and for all... The mouse infestation was so bad, they had full run of the house and the walls they got into? the insulation was heavy from urine and feces, i've never seen it that bad. The whole house had an underlying smell. The mice were nesting in all of the ductwork too. Mold was growing almost 2 feet up the walls of the girls bedrooms.

One of the kids was born into this house, the other was two when they moved in. I don't want to get into particulars as to why they lived like this, just concerned over health issues.

The youngest (the one that was born here) has learning disabilities and has been fighting with belly aches and allergies for a couple of years now, yet undiagnosed. The older has allergies and some psychological problems but the doctors could find nothing but yet they haven't really done much testing. I'm really concerned about this. Their family doctor seems to think the environment would have nothing to do with any of these health issues.