Medical Questions > Cancer > Cancers Forum

Throat cancer and smoking

Must Read
Millions of Americans are diagnosed with cancer. But what exactly is cancer and how does it affect the body?...
What puts you at risk for developing cancer? Learn how you can avoid or reduce exposure to risk factors for cancer here....
Cancer can occur anywhere in the body. But what are the signs and symptoms of cancer? Learn about general symptoms of cancer here....
I have been smoking for 5 years and i have been in the process of quitting most of this past year.. I only smoke like 2-6 cigarettes a day sometimes none.. but this past month i quit.. i quit a few months ago to but went back to 2-5 a day. Now i've stopped smoking again. I also have acid reflux/gerd. I want to know if it is possible for me to have cancer if i quit smoking and change my life style today. What are the possibilities that it is too late. I know i'm paranoid.. but i have alot of negative symptoms.. sore throat, chest pains, fatigue, nausea, etc.. alot of these are associated with my hearburn but im afraid that i've got throat cancer or something. How long does it take to get throat cancer? my hearburn only started the past few years but its been like 3 years.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile MandMs
|

User Profile
replied January 9th, 2009
Extremely eHealthy
Although, acid reflux and throat cancer, can share some symptoms (voice hoarseness, sore throat), I'm sure that all of your symptoms are resulting from your acid reflux issue.
The most common throat cancer symptoms are: a progressive onset of hoarseness with some progressive difficulty in breathing, complaints of sore throat and lesions in and around the mouth, difficulty swallowing, earache and loss of hearing, and even the onset of frequent nosebleeds.
According to your smoking history you don't seem like a candidate for a throat cancer.