Medical Questions > Abortion > Medical Abortion Forum

Surgical abortion at 4 weeks

Must Read
A D&C is a standard procedure. But it can be scary when you don't know what to expect. Learn about what happens during dilation and curettage to prepare yoursel...
Dilation and curettage, or D & C for short, is a procedure that is used to diagnose and treat a number of womens health conditions. What are some goals of a D a...
A D&C usually is free of problems, and the recovery period for the procedure is short. But knowing about possible complications can help you detect problems ea...
Hey everyone I am rather new to this please do not judge me because you dont know the circumstances. Anywys I just had a surgical abortion this past weekend and I was only 4 weeks. I thought surgical abortions were not suppose to be given until one is at the least 6- 8 weeks pregenant. Is there a possibilitie I could still be pregnant since the procedure was done so ealry? I'm a little scared that this could be a failed abortion because it was done so early. HElpPlease. Please do not pass judgement, I would truely apprecite. Thanks!
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper loveurself415
|

User Profile
replied August 18th, 2008
Extremely eHealthy
Did they do a follow-up ultrasound? They would be able to tell if there was anything left. I'm pretty sure that they wait til 6wks so they don't risk leaving anything behind.
|

replied August 18th, 2008
I will have my follow up ultrasound within two weeks. I find it just a little strange that they would of insisted on doing it so early when most clinics specifically state one must be atleast 6 weeks.
|

replied August 20th, 2008
Hi there,