Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Back Pain Forum

Spinal fusion recovery (Page 1)

Must Read
What structures make up the spine? We review basic spine anatomy here...before identifying potential causes of back pain....
Click here to learn about the most common causes of back pain, and things that increase your risk of backache. We cover lower back pain and upper back pain....
Back pain symptoms may seem obvious. But do you know when symptoms of back pain are more serious or when to see a doctor? Learn what action to take & when...
Hi, I'm new to this and honestly don't know where to turn. I've been reading posts that people have gone back to work after five weeks, I'm four weeks out and no where ready.
December 12 2008 I had my surgery, spinal fusion, pedicle screws, they removed my disc, put in a cage with donor bone.(L5-S1). I think thats it but the day I had my surgery we had a horrible ice storm and no one seemed to be able to give me many answers. It was a Friday, my surgeon was gone for the weekend, and the nurses there were the worst I have ever had.
I am still having leg pain, the left side of my back is burning. I'm not sleeping, haven't had more than a couple hours a night since my surgery. I have my post op appointment this coming Thursday. I thought I would be off the pain meds by now but every time I try to take less a day I pay for it. I now have to call for a refill.
Three and a half years ago I had a disectomy, it worked wonders. Not sure what happened but when the pain started, I went back to my doctor who inturn sent me to my neurosurgeon, my spine was collasping, my disk ruptured again. I was asked if I was in an accident, I was not.