Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Lungs and Respiratory Disorders Forum

Shortness of Breath after working out

Must Read
Asthma affects more than 22 million Americans. But what happens during a respiratory asthma attack? Learn the basics about asthma now....
Some people are more likely than other to be diagnosed with asthma. Learn if you are at risk of asthma in this section on risk factors and causes of asthma....
How can you identify the signs and symptoms of asthma or respiratory problems? We list the common asthma symptoms here and discuss asthma problems....
I am 21 years of age, I have been working out for the last 2 years, with emphasis on Avid bodybuilding & cardiovascular fitness. I don't have any history of heart disease, cancer, or disabling diseases in my family.

Recently, I increased my intensity level in the gym, mainly doing 2 muscle groups /day, complimenting each set of weights with pushups/pullups, to keep the intensity level up. At the time of working out, I was feeling great, my adrenaline, testosterone keeping the exercises very vigorous. My diet is spotless, and I follow it very routinely/strictly.

The problem: I started feeling short of breath, not during my exercise, but almost the day later. I get a feeling of constantly wanting to yawn to get a deep satisfying breath (which have become rare). I also feel as though someone is strangling me, in general my trachea feeling "constricted". I do have some post-nasal drip, which made me think that it could be a viral infection, or just a simple cold, but why the shortness of breath? I also woke up last night with my heart rate skyrocketing at 100 BPM; normally my resting heart rate is 55 BPM. My blood oxygen saturation is normal at 98-99%. What could be the problem here? I have come across many forums regarding this issue, and most people have said they got an EKG, chest x-ray, and have ruled out many of the cardiovascular issues.