Medical Questions > Mens Health > Prostate Forum

sharp radiating pain in anus (Page 1)

Must Read
Chronic pain affects more than 70 million Americans. But what is pain? And how can pain management help relieve different types of pain? Basic facts here....
How does the nervous system work to register pain? And what are the major causes of acute and chronic pain? Plus, who's at risk of pain here....
Acute and chronic pain manifest different symptoms. Learn the difference here and know when to seek medical help for pain....
hello. i hope someone can give me some information. i have no knowledge of prostate related problems.
i used to get an occasional sharp pain in my rectum. it would happen for 2 seconds and disappear. but as of a few months and very recent i get it 2 times in a 24 hour period. it feels like its in the surface of the rectum and is a sharp stab like pain. ive noticed it radiate upward to above my penis.

the area which it radiates to above the penis is in discomfort sometimes as well. its like a numb type feeling that comes and goes.

i was wondering does this sound like a potential prostate issue? what tests can be done to find out?

thank you so much im so worried.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper Zyrius9
|

replied October 5th, 2009
I was about to start a topic on the same problem...
Hi, I was just going to start a new topic about this problem when I saw your thread.

I'm a 21 year old male and having been experiencing these shooting pains since I was about 18. I usually get this about once a month but it nearly brings me to my knees; it feels like someone stabbed a knife into my rectum. The pain lasts about 2 seconds and there are no other symptoms that accompany it at the same time.