Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Back Pain Forum

Severe back pain with burning sensation down right leg

Must Read
What structures make up the spine? We review basic spine anatomy here...before identifying potential causes of back pain....
Click here to learn about the most common causes of back pain, and things that increase your risk of backache. We cover lower back pain and upper back pain....
Back pain symptoms may seem obvious. But do you know when symptoms of back pain are more serious or when to see a doctor? Learn what action to take & when...
For the last 3 months I have been having lower back pain and a burning sensation that starts in my right butt cheek, down the back of my thigh, calf and into my foot! It is getting progressively worse with time! I did a cervical and lumbar MRI, which has shown a 7.44 mm disc herniation and I just found out that at some point I broke my tail bone. Anyway...long story short, I went to a Neurologist, who did a nerve conductive test, everything came back normal, then went to Ortho surgeon, who told me he had no idea what the problem could be. I was then referred to a pain management doctor, who said I have neuropathy/Sciatica and gave me a epidural cortisone injection in her office, that worked for about 2 days and I'm still in pain and it's still burning! HELP!!!
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper myopracticworks
|

replied January 7th, 2012
Active User, very eHealthy
The good news is that the epidural showed your pain can be relieved. Also your nerve conductive test shows there is no nerve impingement. But if you do not take positive action, this could become a problem.

At what level is the disc herniation?

If your symptoms are being caused by the disc, then it is bulging to the right and hitting the sciatic nerve. Sciatica can also be muscular and not disc. Here is one test to find out:

1) Lie on your back on the floor.
2) Lift your head and shoulders off the ground and look at your toes.