Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Gallbladder Disease Forum

Recovery time for gallbladder removal

Must Read
Are you suffering from gallbladder pain? We describe the location and function of the gallbladder to target possible problems....
When do you need to see a doctor about possible gallbladder problems? Learn to distinguish signs and symptoms of gallbladder disease to take action before it's...
Gallstones are the most frequent cause of an inflamed gallbladder. Know the common symptoms of gallstones or gallstone attack....
Finally after having pains from a bad Gallbladder, I'm having it removed on 3-2-09. I've looked and read everything I can trying to find out just how long I will need to be off work. I'm told it depends on the type of work you do. I'm a City Police Officer and want to hear from any other officer's or anyone who knows an officer who had this surgery and approximately how long they were off. Thanks.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied March 3rd, 2009
Time off
Hi, I just had the surgery done last Monday and after discussing it with my surgeon we determined 2 weeks was best. I have a desk job and it can take the first week just to get past the worst pain and inconvenience and another week to get over fatigue. I'd say a bare minimum of 10 days of no work after surgery for the average person w no post surgical complications for a laparascopic procedure. I am not allowed to lift anything over 15 lbs for 6 weeks, either, and that may be an issue at your job. If you have to run after an assailant and jump over fences and open heavy doors or lift weapon caches, you may need more time off or a temporary change in duties until you've healed more.
|

replied April 1st, 2009
2 weeks minimum