Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Orthopedics Forum

Recovery time for broken Tibia and Fibula ? (Page 1)

Must Read
Think you might be experiencing bone loss? Check out this Intro to Osteoporosis and evaluate your risk for developing bone weakness. ...
Although bone mass loss is normal as we age, some people are more at risk of developing osteoporosis than others. Are you at risk? More here....
Do you have severe back pain? Do your bones break frequently or with little pressure? You might be experiencing osteoporosis. Found out more here....
Im 18 years old. Good health and very atheletic. I broke my Tibia and Fibula playing ball hockey. Its a clean break right through both bones in the middle of my right shin. I was in a full leg cast for 5 weeks and I've been wearing a walking brace for the past 2 months. I recently was told I no longer need to wear the brace around my house, but should continue to wear it at work and at school. Its been just over three months since the incident. I want to join the military asap, but I need to wait for my leg to be ready for boot camp (climbing, jumping and running). I would really like to know how much longer it will take to be 100%. Thanks
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper shericabral
|

replied September 10th, 2009
Reply:
Hi Mark

Usually it takes 12 weeks. But depending on the person it may vary. But my honest suggestion is wait for at least 4 month. Don't do x-ray of your leg too often. after 4 month do the x-ray and you will be sure about the cure by your own.

Do exercise regularly.

My best wishes for you.

Rupak
India
|

replied March 27th, 2011
Hey,
I received a spiral fracture about 3 inches above my ankle on the tibula about 3 inches long as well on Jan 30/2011.
Full leg cast Feb 1, below knee cast Mar 3, Air boot Mar 24.