Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Really depressed student

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
I am a college student, have no close friends, parents are divorced and often depressed about my life.. My biggest fear is living my whole life all alone..

I just can't seem to "click" with anyone, no matter how hard I tried..I often have trouble thinking of something to say in a conversation..

I don't know what I want to do with my life. I often have no motivation to do anything..Life just seems so dreary and mundane..

So I guess my question is.. do you feel the same? Why do we go on living?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied January 4th, 2009
Experienced User
lifereallysucks89,

I have had my periods in life where I have felt depressed (but probably not clinically depressed) and this is normal for most people. I can see that you are feeling down because, as you say, you can't seem to click with others in conversation, and let's face it, communication with others is an important facet of our lives.

You're worried that you don't know what to do with your life, while when I was a student I really didn't know what I was going to do either and it is hard to get motivated until you find something that really interests you.