Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

Raging hormones and bipolar

Must Read
Do you know what bipolar is exactly? And what types of bipolar do doctors classify and diagnose? Learn more basics about bipolar disorder here....
Can stress put you at risk of developing bipolar disorder? Read here for information on risk factors which increase the likelihood that someone becomes bipolar....
Bipolar is difficult to diagnose as an illness ... but bipolar symptoms are usually accompanied by extreme changes. What are the symptoms of bipolar disorder?...
I have Bipolar Disorder and I've known about it for a while. I've had plenty of experience with random switches between extreme ends of the emotional spectrum, and I've got a pretty good idea of what can throw me into a breakdown (in my case, mild and medium-level breakdowns being curling up in a ball, crying and not responding to anyone). But one thing that doesn't quite make sense to me anymore is what gets me out of them. Usually when people buzz around me asking questions and trying to help me (like at school for example), the attention prevents me from getting out of the breakdown as fast as if everyone just ignored me. I hate it when people won't leave me alone and I'm not in the mood, so once it starts to subside I tend to just keep myself in a ball and silent until they give up and go away. The people who've got the most experience dealing with my breakdowns (ie, family and close friends) know to just pat me on the back and leave the room until I come out of it on my own. Depending on whether or not I get solitude, I can take anywhere from an hour to three hours before I'm in control again, and even longer before I'll talk and interact with anyone.