Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Orthopedics Forum

Precautions after shoulder dislocation?

Must Read
Think you might be experiencing bone loss? Check out this Intro to Osteoporosis and evaluate your risk for developing bone weakness. ...
Although bone mass loss is normal as we age, some people are more at risk of developing osteoporosis than others. Are you at risk? More here....
Do you have severe back pain? Do your bones break frequently or with little pressure? You might be experiencing osteoporosis. Found out more here....
User Profile
I dislocated my shoulder during basketball. I'm 14. It is my first time, and it was only dislocated for 2 seconds or so. Then it popped back into place by its self. After it just felt sore, not so much of a really sharp pain. The pain was more like the soreness after a vaccine shot. I could move my arm fine in all range of motions, but again it is sore, so I wouldn't like to raise this arm, or move it too much. There is no swelling, and it pretty much looks the same as my other arm which was unhurt. Is this serious? What precautions should I take? How long should I keep from physical activities like basketball? Any other information should I know about this injury? This is my first major injury, and I heard some people get problems from dislocated shoulders years after the injury.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile Gaelic
|

User Profile
replied December 14th, 2009
Community Volunteer
Hi Anonymous and welcome to ehealth...The wisest thing that you can do is to talk to your doctor or even better see your Orthopedist about this injury...They will probably X-ray to see if you did any muscle or rotator cuff damage, then give you their medical advice...Sometimes a sling is necessary depending upon the injury, but do check it out....Good luck and enjoy being 14....I remember it well.. sunny

Caroline
|

replied December 14th, 2009