Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Skin Forum

Perioral Dermatitis- Please help

Must Read
Acne is a common skin condition - but what types of acne can a person have? Start learning about acne here....
Does chocolate or greasy food cause acne? Learn the difference between fact and myth...plus who is at risk for getting acne?...
Severity of acne and symptoms vary by individual. Learn the difference between mild and sever acne here...and when you should seek medical help for acne....
Hello! My name is Caitlin and I am a 19-year-old college freshman. For the past two years I have had a small rash appear under my bottom lip every now and then but it would soon go away so I never went to a derm for it until recently this past year (my senior year) when it seemed to flare up and not go away. I was put on steroid creams and whatnot and it eventually went away. The second day I got to college, the rash came back and got bigger and bigger. It itches and burns and although there are no bumps, it flakes frequently and is very red. I went to the local doctor who diagnosed me with PD and put me on monocycline. I have been on the medication for about two weeks or so and have seen little improvement.

I am banishing all products with SLS in it and the only thing I apply to my rash is vaseline to moisturize it. I am feeling very helpless about this getting better and would so appreciate some advice on what worked for other people. I hate wearing foundation but find myself wearing it more than ever now because its the only thing that covers my rash.

Any advice or help is so greatly appreciated. This has caused me a great deal of depression and stress and I am trying to remain hopeful and trying to not get stressed as I know that may worsen the condition but there are so many options to make it better I don't even know where to begin. .