Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

motivation issues

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
I've been suffering from depression for years and it was relatively under control when I took effexor xr, but I stopped taking it because of the side effects and everything. Now I'm on a low dose of prozac which I originally started taking for anxiety, but my depression has come back much worse than before. I'm a college student and I'm supposed to be graduating this semester, but for the past few semesters I haven't felt motivated enough to even go to class. I've been failing classes and getting behind but I just don't care. It seems like all I want to do is sleep and sometimes I think it would be better if I wasn't alive. I have plenty of reasons to be happy but I'm not. Now that all of my friends are graduating I'm starting to realize that for about 2 years I have been somewhat of a hermit and I feel like I've been totally waisting my life because I barely remember anything that's happened. I think I don't remember because basically all I did was sleep and stay in my room. I was just wondering if anyone has had a similar experience and if so, what did you do about it?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied May 3rd, 2008
Supporter
That was my first year of University to a T. Seriously. I don't remember much because I just barricaded myself in my room and did absolutely nothing.... My marks suffered greatly and so did my chances at maintaining any relationships (whether it be romantic or friendly).