Medical Questions > Nutrition > Diet Pills Forum

Metformin for weight loss ??? (Page 1)

User Profile
My doctor prescribed this to me for weight loss. It is designed to lower cholesterol and for diabetics. I am not diabetic, but am 100 lbs overweight and definitely at risk. I am starting out by writing down what I eat and taking 1 500mg pill 2x a day after lunch and dinner....also trying to drink w alrge glass of water with every meal ...I was wondering if anyone else has tried this for weight loss. Im just starting out.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile
|

User Profile
replied May 13th, 2009
Metformin
You are correct, Metformin is generally prescribed for diabetes and blood glucose control. I personally have never heard of its use off label as a weight loss control drug.
With these types of drugs you run the risk of harmful/unwanted side effects such as: headaches, abdominal pain, indigestion, weakness, gas, nausea, diarrhea, and others.
It's suggested to try safer, more natural approaches to health conditions first. As far was weight loss, diet and exercise are the best safest and most effective forms of weight control. I refer you to a previously posted answer to a somewhat similar question here: http://ehealthforum.com/health/weight-gain -while-injured-t182234.html

Good luck, hope this helps.

Antonio Marotta, D.C.
marottahealthandwellness.com
|

replied November 2nd, 2012