Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Lonely College Student

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
Hi my name is Penny. Im a college student. Im a sophomore and I have absolutely no friends. I don't even have any acquaintances. Ive never really had that many friends, maybe 1 or even 2 at one point in high school but I just cant seem to make any in college. Sometimes I go days without talking to a single person. I have nobody to talk to. Im a very shy person and Im horrible at starting conversations or maintaining them. I have talked to people in my classes before but I just don't have a lot to say. I feel so alone. Sometimes I go out and walk around by myself but I feel so lonely. I spend most of my time crying in my room. I don't know what to do. I don't really see any solutions. I guess I just wanted to get this off my chest. I don't tell people that I don't have any friends; not even my mother knows how truly alone and sad I am. Sometimes I talk to my family but they are in a different state. Sometimes I feel as if Im alone in this world. Sorry for the long post
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied April 22nd, 2012
Hi foreveralone do you have any coping strategies? are you depressed as well?
|

replied April 23rd, 2012
I'm a lonely college student myself (in my 2nd year), and I have the same problem with relating to other people. I'm not the biggest fan of small-talk, so conversation with other students doesn't last long.