Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > HIV and AIDS Forum

life expectancy ? (Page 1)

Must Read
Do you know what causes HIV? Get started by learning the facts on HIV and AIDS here....
Do you know what puts you at high risk of HIV? Debunk the myths and get the facts of HIV risk factors here....
Can you identify early HIV symptoms. Learn what to look for and when to seek medical help as we review symptoms of HIV here....
User Profile
Sad im having all the acute hiv symptoms and im 100% sure that i have hiv virus. Swollen gland rash and wt loss.now im very sad and i feel lonely,i think i have changed behavior also.i was engaged in a french kiss ,licked vagina one time ..im fed up of my life..dont know what to do.im an international student and im away from home.now i dont feel like studying.
What are the other stis that could be trasfered including hiv..if i start haart how long will i live?im getting weaker and weaker. Pls help
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile Muthoni
|

User Profile
replied April 2nd, 2008
Community Volunteer
The first question I hear when talking to someone who has just found out the are HIV infected is how long will they live. My answer has always been that there is no answer...life expectancy varies from person to person and is impacted by a myriad of factors. But now researchers at Emory University's Center for AIDS Research says their studies indicate people live on average 24 years after being diagnosed with HIV. Since 1993 the average life span after diagnosis has more than tripled from 7 years to 24 years, a testament to more effective treatments and better HIV care.