Medical Questions > Mental Health > Addiction, Recovery Forum

Itching skin part of alcohol withdrawal? (Page 1)

I have been drinking very heavily for the last 4 months : at least 6 - 13 standard shots of gin almost every day. Sometimes more. Things just escalated and got out of hand. I was also smoking a pack of cigarettes a day, and usually finishing the night off with a couple of Tylenol with Codeine (8mg). I realize that I am probably lucky to still be alive.

I have stopped all the bad habits - no intention of going back to that place - but have a question about the detox process.

I am on day 6 and things have not been too bad, except for a little fatigue and insomnia and bad dreams which I understand is normal in this situation. I can get through this. But it is the onset of hypersensitive skin that is driving me nuts! Itchy skin that feels as if bugs are crawling over me at times. NO, I don't see them! Smile Is this part of the detox - does anyone else know of this experience? And how long do you think this could last!

I have had blood work done, and by some miracle everything shows up within range!
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile Rick1960
|

replied January 14th, 2010
itchy skin
I don't know if you have had any responses to your question yet, but I have been through detox several times and each time that I do I experience the exact same thing you are talking about. It drives me nuts because I can't sit still or lie still long enough to sleep. I have asked doctors, nurses, other alcoholics, but no one seems to have a real answer. Some have told me it has to do with the central nervous system reactivating itself (since it has been numbed by the alcohol for so long) and firing off nerve endings throughout the body. This kind of makes sense to me because I feel it a lot in my head too. I have tried taking warm baths with epsom salts like one doctor told me but that almost made me more irritated.