Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > TMJ Forum

I can't get any help...

This pain is...intense. I'm in my last semester in college. I got a full-ride scholarship, and I'm going to graduate with honors... or at least I want to. But it's the third week of classes, and I can barely handle it. Because of my TMJ, I can only study or work for like 30 minutes without severely worsening my pain. I've been taking someone's leftover Vicodin, but today, that's only working for like 10 minutes when I take it. And I won't take more than one pill at a time, because that will create dependency...
My childhood dentist let me do a payment plan and made a night guard for me that I use every night, but it's still been getting worse and worse. He's recommended that I see an oral surgeon, but I can't afford it. I am uninsured, and the research I have done on Medicaid and insurance has informed me that neither could help me, anyway.
I was the happiest I'd ever been in my whole life before this tmjd set in, so "stress" doesn't make sense. This is not psychosomatic, it is somatopsychic...
Tonight, the pain was so bad, I ended up going to the bar and having a shot of Jack, and then I bought a beer... I know this is not good for me, but it gets worse no matter what I do... and it's now only an hour later and I'm starting to feel it again...
If I try to eat something SOFT, it gets worse. I have to live off of liquids, but my stomach does not like anything dairy by itself... so most protein and vitamins drinks are out. And applesauce and most smoothies are too acidic, so on top of my face killing me, then my stomach is, too.
My dentist said he saw nothing wrong with my jaw in the x-rays he took... but he did notice it popping last visit, and he's gone from calling it just bruxism to calling it tmjd and saying he'd like to refer me to an oral surgeon...this is too confusing, and I don't have the funds to figure it out...