Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Hypoglycemia Forum

hypoglycemic diet options

Hey all, I'm a 20 year old student, and I believe I have some form of hypoglycemia. For years I've been getting lightheaded occasionally after meals, but after switching to a vegan diet high in refined carbs and drinking too much, I began to get much much more sensitive. Since then I've changed my diet and habits drastically.

When I eat meals, often I'll get dizzy, lightheaded and drained after about 15 minutes. I'll have trouble socializing or focusing; this will last about an hour, sometimes longer. This mainly happens when I eat carbs; if I were to eat a salad, I wouldn't experience those effects. Eating sugar intensifies my symptoms, I avoid it at all costs.

However, I don't usually experience symptoms of hypoglycemia if I skip a meal, I only experience them after eating one. My first meal of the day is usually the most difficult in terms of my reaction. This year I've been living on campus so I've had very limited options in what I can eat; this summer, though, I've put together a meal plan for myself -- I was hoping that some of you could lend your advice/criticism.

I weigh ~160 lbs. and can tolerate whole grains:

8A:
-1 hard boiled egg (2g carbs, 17g protein, 14g fat)
-1 cup WG Kashi (15/2/.5)
-1 vitamin (0/0/0)

11A:
-1 medium carrot (6/1/0)
-23 almonds (6/6/14)

2P:
-1 can of tuna (0/40/3)
-1 slice WG bread (20/4/2)

5P:
-1 apple (21/0/.5)
-1/2 cup shredded cheese (.5/14/19)
-1 slice WG bread (20/4/2)

8P:
-1/4 cup WG rice w/ soy sauce (32/3/1)
-1 small salad (8/1/0)

11P:
-1 medium stalk of celery (1/0/0)
-1/2 cup of hummus (18/10/12)

Total for the day: 150g carbs, 102g protein, 68g fat

Edit: This adds up to 1,620 calories, which seems a little low to me. Where should I add calories, and of what?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied May 12th, 2008
Community Volunteer