Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Help. Should I seek it.

Must Read
Do you know how doctors define clinical depression? Learn more about this brain disorder and types of depression that doctors diagnose here....
Can depression run in families? Can hormones really make you depressed? Yes! Learn more about causes and conditions of clinical depression here....
People with depressive illnesses do not all experience the same symptoms. Do you know the signs and symptoms of depression? Read on to learn more....
This may be long. Please read ahead...

Hello all. I'd like you to know that this is day 3 that I've been awake. It's been this way before, but I was always able to come back from it somehow. I'm an honorably discharged veteran and I won't say what branch(I'm here for opinions/advice, not seeking glory). I was able to sleep ok when I was with fellow members of my branch on deployments and TDY's, but it eats at you the stuff you have to do or things I had to do rather.

It's very difficult for me to sleep alone. For a while, I was ok. I believe that was because the IMMENSE relief of seeing a light at the end of the tunnel (no more active duty!!!!), but the sleeplessness and the anguish came back like your ex who left because you were broke and came back when you won the lottery (lol).

For anyone that's stayed awake for longer than 3 days, it's effects are like stages. Day 2, your tired, day 3 your energetic, day 4 hallucinations set in that alarm you. I've never consciously made it to day 5. No, I've never spoken about it to anyone.

A funny story. A few years ago before I was married, I used to have a huge apartment with no real furniture. Just the office kitchen and bedroom was where I spent most of my time.