Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Orthopedics Forum

Ganglion Cyst Surgery Questions

Must Read
Think you might be experiencing bone loss? Check out this Intro to Osteoporosis and evaluate your risk for developing bone weakness. ...
Although bone mass loss is normal as we age, some people are more at risk of developing osteoporosis than others. Are you at risk? More here....
Do you have severe back pain? Do your bones break frequently or with little pressure? You might be experiencing osteoporosis. Found out more here....
Hi I am having Ganglion Cyst surgery this Thursday and I am extremely nervous. I never had surgery before and I am afraid on the pain that I will be experiencing afterwards. I am a college student and this surgery could not come at worse time "Finals Week" but the pain has got so bad that I had to get it removed ASAP. I guess the two questions that I have are 1. Will the pain be so server that I wont be able to write for my 3 finals on friday (the following day) and 2. How long is recovery time? And how is your wrist bandaged up?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied December 14th, 2011
Especially eHealthy
Michaela14,

Having surgery during finals week, probably wasn't the greatest timing. You couldn't have put it off just one more week?

You do not say where your ganglion is, but for this I will assume it is in the most common location, the back of the hand/wrist. (Ganglions can occur off of any joint or tendon in the body.)

As to pain, everyone is different and reacts to procedures in different ways. I have seen patients after a ganglion removal, be back to regular activities in a week or so, and not require much of anything in terms of post-op pain meds. I have seen other patients, under going the exact same procedure, still having problems, using a splint, etc a month out.