Medical Questions > Cancer > Thyroid Cancer Forum

follicular adenomia

Hi doc,
My sis(25 yrs) has a swelling in her neck and it is visible. Docs told it need to be operated soon and in a medical term they say it is follicular adenomia. I just want to know is the operation risky and is this the only solution? It is about 8 months she is having this problem and she has gone through many medical tests like ultrasound and some more..If operation is the only solution can it be delayed??
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied October 9th, 2011
Extremely eHealthy
I'm not a doctor (if you want your question answered by a doctor, you have to post it to the "ask a doctor" tab at the top of your screen).

I am, however, a 5+ year thyroid cancer survivor and have done a lot of personal research into the topic. In my opinion, I think your sister should absolutely listen to the doctors' advice and get the surgery. I've seen studies that say that the two best predictors of good outcome with thyroid cancer is aggressiveness of treatment and young age. Your sister is 25 (a year older than I was when I had my treatment). She's in good shape there.

In my opinion and from all I've read from every respected medical source, yes, the surgery is the only solution. This isn't something that can be shrunk with radiation or anything like that. Besides, that would probably be worse on her. Delaying surgery would only give the cancer a chance to grow more a possibly spread. There is absolutely no reason to wait. Nothing good will come of waiting. There are no new treatments on the horizon or anything like that. Thyroid cancer is very very treatable if it is found early and treated aggressively.

Every operation has risks, but this one is minimally risky, as long as she has a good surgeon. I'm sure the doctors have gone over the risks with her. At this point, waiting is more risky than the operation.