Medical Questions > Relationships > Family Relationships Forum

Family, oh family.

I am a 21 year old male who is still living under his parents and grandparents (unfortunately, but it won't be for long), I just landed myself a proper job and am feeling quite glad about it.

Let's start with my parents, I can't remember the last time we actually sat down and had a proper conversation. They are very ego-istic, and for about 3 years now, every single attempted conversation would erupt into conflict, about how they look down on me for being a lazy bum who would go nowhere in life and basically, how they are right all the time and even if they're not, they would find ways to make themselves the victim and me, the villain. They have also been facing some financial problems since late-2006, and I have always been labelled a lot of hurtful words for not helping them out. I was a student back then, what did they expect me to do? To work night? That was the only free time I had to myself, and had it not been for those times, I would have ended my life, I am dead serious. Now that I've landed a job, they seem happy, but I am sure it's because they now have an additional source of money to take them out of their money problems and not so much that their child now has the means to support himself.