Medical Questions > Mental Health > Sleep Disorders Forum

Falling asleep during day

Hello, I'm a college student who has been having frequent sleepiness during the day. I get enough sleep at night usually around 7-8 hours on the average night. However I still find the need to take a nap during the day. It is common for me to be sitting in a class in the after noon around 2-3 and then have uncontrollable sleepiness. I try to stay awake, I try chewing gum, shaking my legs, or even just focus on writing notes, all of which fail. It almost feels like I'm blacking out. I've noticed some trends too. It usually is the worst around 2-3, the amount of sleep I get the night before rarely changes this, eating right before this time increases the likelihood that I'll fall asleep. I also fall asleep doing other activities during this time like reading, listening to music, or watching tv. Any tips, is this serious, how can I control this?
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper 2ndendo
|

User Profile
replied April 10th, 2009
Supporter
You may not be getting true rest when you sleep due to sleep apnea. Do you snore? To your knowledge, do you stop breathing when you sleep? Are you overweight? Are your tonsils or adenoids enlarged? All of these things can cause sleep apnea. People with sleep apnea stop breathing for short periods during the night. The result is that their sleep is disturbed- but not to the point that they wake.
|

replied April 11th, 2009
I took these things into consideration too. From what my friends tell me I do not snore, am a heavy sleeper, and I am not overweight, also I had my tonsils removed as a child.
|

User Profile
replied April 11th, 2009
Supporter
It sounds like you suffer from hypersomnia. It just means that you have excessive sleepiness during the day. (The term is also used for people who sleep too much at night.) It can be caused by sleep disorders, anemia and a whole host of other problems.