Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Epilepsy Forum

Enlarged pituitary gland causing seizures?

Must Read
Learn the basics about various conditions and diseases, including risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment options....
Learn about risk factors to developing a certain conditions and diseases. ...
Learn about screening and diagnosis options available for certain conditions and diseases....
User Profile
My endocrinologist is 99% sure I have glucocorticoid resistance, which has caused my pituitary gland to swell so much that it's almost touching my left optic nerve.

It will probably help if you have some background info as to why that's relevant. In November of 2009, I was a sophomore in college and was in choir and doing well in my studies. However, I had a cyst on my hard pallet near the V2 division of the trigeminal nerve. I had to have the cyst removed as it was painful and very swollen, and the surgeon said he would have to remove that part of the nerve, but it would grow back. I had to have that surgery three time, and true to his word, the nerve grew back every time. I still have that cyst but am wary of having it removed.

Around that time, I got very sick with an unconfirmed case of H1N1, and after that I started having massive headaches that would last no more than 30 seconds. I also started having strange experiences during choir concerts where I would be standing and singing and then I would feel complete and utter dread. My left hand would grab my skirt and everything would go all yellow, and the next thing I knew, the girls around me were holding me up to keep me from falling off the risers.

A couple months later, I saw a neurologist for the headaches and he diagnosed me with icepick headaches, a type of migraine. I casually mentioned the things that were happening during the concerts and he told me they sounded like seizures so he ordered an ambulatory EEG. Unfortunately, it wouldn't be ready for two weeks.