Medical Questions > General Forum Topics > General Q and A Forum

Discoloration and bruised look of anus

Must Read
Chronic pain affects more than 70 million Americans. But what is pain? And how can pain management help relieve different types of pain? Basic facts here....
How does the nervous system work to register pain? And what are the major causes of acute and chronic pain? Plus, who's at risk of pain here....
Acute and chronic pain manifest different symptoms. Learn the difference here and know when to seek medical help for pain....
User Profile
As of late, I have been diagnosed with a number of things: Herpes type 2 and a minor case of hypothyroidism - I am on medication for both of these issues. As well, I have a kind of EDNOS (eating disorder not otherwise specified), in that I purge via laxatives, and have been doing so now for about 3yrs. I am getting help for this problem from a health clinician and a counselor.
I am a 20yr old female student under alot of stress.

So, my problem is this:
I keep a watchful eye on my downstairs ever since my herpes diagnoses. Around the time of that diagnoses, I noticed a wide area around my anus was lighter. Like, my skin was discolored, but it wasn't dark, it was much lighter than my natural skin tone. I decided not to worry about anything since I felt fine.
This past weekend, about 3 days ago, I had used my laxatives. It was early in the morning, and when I wiped, I looked and saw a small amount of blood on the paper. I didn't know whether it was from my anus or perhaps I was spotting. I decided not to panic, and went back to bed. Have not experienced a recurrence since. When I checked myself out in the following days, I saw that the skin was still discolored, and now looked bruised, but only under the areas of discoloration. I am also experiencing the smallest bit of what seems to be anal discharge. I am in no pain, and am not feeling any itching out of the norm.