Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Asthma Forum

Chronic uncontrolled asthma

Must Read
Learn the basics about various conditions and diseases, including risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment options....
Learn about risk factors to developing a certain conditions and diseases. ...
Learn about screening and diagnosis options available for certain conditions and diseases....
I am 26 and I now have severe/brittle asthma. 2 years ago I was admitted to hospital with Swine Flu and Pneumonia, I underwent lots of treatment to get me well again - Nebs, oxygen, oral steroids and inhalers. I had 3 months off work (I'm a teacher) and then went on to make a full recovery within 8 months. I was back to the gym/exercise 3 times a week and I even went travelling for a month, no problems.

Now, however, I have gone backwards having had 3 acute attacks in the last 6 months, all of which have needed oral steroids to clear (triggers were hayfever pollen and colds). I am currently taking Symbicort 200/6 morning and evening, 40mg of prednisolone a day (for 2 weeks so far), a course of doxytetracycline antibiotics and salbutamol 4/5 puffs every 3/4 hours. Despite all this medication, I still have a wheeze in my chest and when I exert myself (walking, climbing stairs) I loose my breath and then can't take a deep breath for a while. The wheeze seems to go a bit when I cough up mucus, which is thicker than normal but clear, but then it comes back again quickly.

I feel so frustrated as I can no longer do any exercise, as it brings on tightness and a wheeze in my chest, and I am struggling to even go to work. I have a chest x ray tomorrow to have a closer look at my lungs.

Does anyone get the same symptoms? Is anyone on more effective medication? What do I do next?
I appreciate any help/advice you can give.
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper SuzieBee
|

replied November 28th, 2011
Uncontrolled Asthma
Hi there Supershiv4,