Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Forum

can carpal tunnel return after surgury 10 years later

Must Read
Learn the basics about carpal tunnel syndrome here: causes, risk factors and complications....
Are some people born with carpal tunnel? More here on what can cause carpal tunnel syndrome and who is at risk of developing the condition....
Carpal tunnel syndrome is accompanied by very clear signs and symptoms. But how do symptoms change as the syndrome progresses? More info here....
Rolling Eyes can carpal tunnel return after surgury 10 years later
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper leadseadoo
|

User Profile
replied June 24th, 2010
Community Volunteer
Hi sammyboy902 and welcome to ehealth: From every indication I have heard the answer would be yes...However, I am not a professional and as a novice I wonder if it rids itself after surgery?...The wrist is such a delicate joint...I guess only if we protect it and baby it during the course of our life, will it serve us as long as we live...At least this is what I am finding...Good luck...

Caroline
|

User Profile
replied June 24th, 2010
hi sammy
my aunt had carpal tunnel surgery and 12 yrs later it came back she saw a orthapedic surgeon again shes now wearing wrist splints
i also have had carpal tunnel surgery but unfortunatly my surgery didnt go so well and now im worse than i was before the pain is terrible
anyway hope u r ok
takecare
lisanmaria
|

replied August 7th, 2010
carpel tunnel can come back after surgery!
I had my sugery three years and also two trigger finger releases and I was tested again for carpel tunnel after a year of the surgery and the doctor says I still have carpal tunnel,I am starting to get the trigger thumb again and after doing a little yard work they are starting to hurt again and feel like someone is squeezing my wrists, I am also feeling shooting pain up my arms. So I would say yes it can come back.
|

replied August 9th, 2010