Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

bipolar reading suggestions

Must Read
Do you know what bipolar is exactly? And what types of bipolar do doctors classify and diagnose? Learn more basics about bipolar disorder here....
Can stress put you at risk of developing bipolar disorder? Read here for information on risk factors which increase the likelihood that someone becomes bipolar....
Bipolar is difficult to diagnose as an illness ... but bipolar symptoms are usually accompanied by extreme changes. What are the symptoms of bipolar disorder?...
Aloha

I hope this finds you well. I was writing to find out some more information about bipolar disorder.

My husband of about a year and a half since we even dated has had mood swings and issues with anger. He told me from the beginning that there was bipolar in his family, his father, grandma and cousin are all on medication for the disorder.

His occupation is a bit different, he is a skydiver by profession. On a few demonstration teams such as Red Bull and drinks the stuff too (yuck!) So he is constantly on those highs and lows with skydiving. that combined with his past 10 year abuse of cocaine I feel like his emotions never really got a chance to fully develop in a healthy way. He has been clean for the past year now.

These episodes or anger outbursts he has have been cycling much quicker. I have noticed that he hasn't slept well, staying up for hours on end on things like craigslist searching for things to buy. He frequently will but things on a whim that are not practical. I am assuming it is because of the high he gets?

His lows are very depressive. Like in the fetal position crying, I am a very emotional woman, but the only times I have huddled like that are from a death or something severe. I have cried to that extent over this issue, feeling helpless that he will not get help.