Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

Anxiety? or something serious?

Must Read
Learn how doctors clinically diagnose one of twelve kinds of anxiety disorders...and which doctors you should see for an anxiety diagnosis....
Anxiety disorders can affect anyone. But do you know the common signs and symptoms of anxiety disorders? Learn more now....
Anxiety is a normal, healthy emotion when experienced during specific moments. But do you know the signs that anxiety has gotten out of control? Read more here...
Hi,

I am 22 years old and have no history physical problems (except high anxiety as a child and depression in my teenage years) I am currently an exchange student in Japan, and I have a major problem. The days I have been studying here, I have shown now symptoms of anxiety and I have been relatively healthy. I played Soccer 5 nights a week and jogged on the weekends. however, halfway through I cut my finger really badly which resulted in having me to get stitches (it required 6 stitches and I had a little bit nerve damage (?) but the doctors told me my finger would heal). It was probably the first time I have ever felt like I was going to die, since I could not speak the language, and I didn't know how to contact the emergency hospitals. Fortunately, my friend who could speak English and Japanese helped me, and since that day I have been showing symptoms of huge anxiety.