Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Back Pain Forum

Ankylosing spondylitis? Or other morning stiffness dx?

Must Read
What structures make up the spine? We review basic spine anatomy here...before identifying potential causes of back pain....
Click here to learn about the most common causes of back pain, and things that increase your risk of backache. We cover lower back pain and upper back pain....
Back pain symptoms may seem obvious. But do you know when symptoms of back pain are more serious or when to see a doctor? Learn what action to take & when...
So I am a first year medical student and every once and a while one of the disorders we learn about I get to see while shadowing a primary care doctor. Unfortunately we learned about ankylosing spondylitis after I saw a curious patient being treat by one of the primary's physician assistants. He had some type of chest surgery that I did not find out what it was for, but it had left a scar and was his chief complaint. He then brought up that recently he got a job in a freezer which he wears a protective suit and gloves in but says he gets finger stiffness that is alleviated with hand exercises during and after work. He also stated that he has really bad back pain in the morning and it takes him around half an hour to get out of bed since he is so stiff he can hardly move at all. He also stated a week or so prior to the appointment he had stood up too fast and hit his head on the stairs without any bleeding, vision issues, passing out, and the PA did not find anything in her exam of the patient except tenderness over the area where he hit his head.He was in his mid twenties, possibly early thirties at most, African American, and did not seem to be in any other pain and had full mobility at this afternoon visit. He also stated he was experiencing premature ejaculations without any ED of getting an erection, maintaining it, or having one for longer than expected. The PA didn't know what was the cause, and I s