Medical Questions > Mental Health > ADD and ADHD Forum

Adult ADD stress of moving/change coping with organization

Must Read
Learn the basics about mental disorders, including risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment options. ...
Learn about risk factors to developing a mental health condition. ...
Learn about screening and diagnosis options available for mental conditions....
Hello,

I am a 26 year old male livig with ADD. I am a teacher for children with special needs and a graduate student. I also have a second job that I enjoy doing which includes working with families after school and helping them connect to resources. In late 2010 I was made the decesion to live with my then long term boyfriend and it did not go too well. Not knowing that that I had ADD it seemed like I was a unorganized and day dreaming terror to be with and I see why. The relationship ended not only because of me and I was then victim to domestic violence. Since then I made a decesion to get introspective in order to best help me make decesion while living alone. The implications of add became clear when my former boyfriend was not around to help me the way he did for so much with organizing , laundry, grocery shopping and so on. Before him someone else helped me and it seemed clear I had to start looking after myself.

The devastation of my new cluttered and unorganized life eventually caused me to become very depressed and helpless. At which time I started abusing pain killers for a short time before I realized I had to stop. I went on several months ok but very depressed and this eventually lead me to a social worker then a psychiatrist. They evaluated me in varied ways and the doctor decided the best plan for me was a mild anti depresant pill Wellbutrin 150mg and a dose of adderal in the morning 10mg. It's. Is been sevefal months and I've been feeling better by not feeling extremely exhausted at work and by also having energy and focus to make clear structured decesions.