Medical Questions > Abortion > Abortion Pro Choice Forum

Abortion in a toxic relationship - how to deal with the guilt?

Hello!

This is my first time posting because I don't know where to turn for advice and can't afford therapy. All of your replies are greatly appreciated.

I met a guy 2 yrs ago. instant connection, love at first sight and we rushed things in the beginning. We moved in together after 2 months of dating. We went on a romantic vacation where we were a bit 'careless' with using protection and I'll be the first to admit that. (this is where part of my guilt comes from) I was 22 and he was 30 at this time. THis was my first serious relationship. I was a student and quit my bartending job when we met because he didn't want me working nights and promised he'd support me through school. He filled my head with talks of kids and marriage. I was scared because it was so soon after we met but also in love with the whole idea... I was a kid, totally infatuated with this man and extremely atracted to him.

After the trip, his true colors surfaced:

1- We were living in his mother's basement. SHe treated me like GARBAGE even though I tried SO HARD to make friends with her! She was just a mean, vindictive, manipulative, jealous, miserable person. I could list so many examples that would make your stomachs turn.

2- Part of this had to do with his insecure, clingy, manipulative mom, but I noticed he had a severely warped 1920s mentality about women. (his mom was a housewife with no education and never worked a day in her life after being married) He would make derogatory comments about 'a woman's place' and we would fight a lot because I 'talked back' and 'never learned to keep my mouth shut' (verbatum) when he was being unreasonable. So my little fantasy of us being a cute little family unit and raising children together and working as a team quickly dissipated.